University of Puerto Rico
MayagŘez Campus
College of Engineering
Doctoral Program in Computing and Information Sciences and Engineering

CIIC 8015: Special Topics in Computational Game Theory

(Spring 2008)

Syllabus

Section Information

Section: 001

Dates: Thursdays

Time: 2:00pm-4:30pm

Room: S-309

Web Page: http://www.ece.uprm.edu/~leortiz/teaching/ICOM_8015/Spring08

Instructor Information

Professor: Dr. Luis E. Ortiz

Email: [first name initial][middle initial][last name] <em>at ece</em> followed by <em>.uprm</em> and finally <em>.edu</em>




Web Page: http://www.ece.uprm.edu/~leortiz

Office: T-212

Phone: (787) 832-4040 x3023

Office Hours: Tuesdays 2:00pm-5:00pm, or by appointment (please e-mail me in advance)

Schedule





Lecture

Date

Topic

Reading









1

Thu Jan 10

Introduction

Ch. 1





2

Thu Jan 17

Computing Equilibria

Ch. 2-3





3

Thu Jan 24

Market Equilibria

Ch. 5-6





4

Thu Jan 31

Graphical Games

Ch. 7
Paper on Graphical Economics





5

Thu Feb 7

Learning in Games

Ch. 4

Additional References





6

Thu Feb 14

Modeling Security

Ch. 24-25
Paper on Interdependent Security Games





7

Thu Feb 21

Mechanism Design: Intro

Ch. 9, 11, 16





8

Thu Feb 28

Mechanism Design: Applications

Ch. 22-23

Project Proposal Due





9

Tue Mar 6

Sponsored Search

Ch. 28





10

Thu Mar 13

Price of Anarchy:

Intro

Ch. 17

Network Routing

Ch. 18

Network Formation

Ch. 19

Load Balancing

Ch. 20

Project Progress Report 1 Due





Thu Mar 20

No Lecture: Spring Break





11

Thu Mar 27

Evolutionary Game Theory

Ch. 29





12

Tue Apr 3

Open Topic

Project Progress Report 2 Due





13

Thu Apr 10

Open Topic





14

Thu Apr 17

Open Topic

Project Progress Report 3 Due





15

Thu Apr 24

Project Oral Presentation





16

Thu May 1

Wrap-up









Mon May 5

Project Final Report Due