University of Puerto Rico
MayagŘez Campus
College of Engineering
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

ICOM 5015: Artificial Intelligence

(Spring 2008)

Syllabus

Section Information

Section: 066

Dates: Tuesdays and Thursdays

Time: 12:30pm-1:45pm

Room: S-227

Web Page: http://www.ece.uprm.edu/~leortiz/teaching/ICOM_5015/Spring08

Instructor Information

Professor: Dr. Luis E. Ortiz

Email: [first name initial][middle initial][last name] <em>at ece</em> followed by <em>.uprm</em> and finally <em>.edu</em>




Web Page: http://www.ece.uprm.edu/~leortiz

Office: T-212

Phone: (787) 832-4040 x3023

Office Hours: Tuesdays 2:00pm-5:00pm, or by appointment (please e-mail me in advance)

Schedule





Lecture

Date

Topic

Reading









1

Thu Jan 10

Course Intro





2

Tue Jan 15

Intro. to Artificial Intelligence

Ch. 1





3

Thu Jan 17

Uninformed Search

Sec. 3.1-3.5

4

Tue Jan 22





5

Thu Jan 24

Informed Search

Sec. 4.1-4.3

6

Tue Jan 29





7

Thu Jan 31

Search in Games

Sec. 6.1-6.4, 6.6









Tue Feb 5

Partial Exam 1

Covers lectures 2-6









8

Thu Feb 7

Search in Games (cont)





9

Tue Feb 12

Vision: Line Labeling

Sec. 24.4: Contours

First section of Chapter 12
of Patrick Winston's AI Book (3rd ed.)





10

Thu Feb 14

Constraint Satisfaction

Sec. 5.1-5.3









Tue Feb 19

No Class: Monday Classes Meet





Thu Feb 21

Project Proposal Due









11

Thu Feb 21

Constraint Satisfaction (cont.)





12

Tue Feb 26

Intro. to Machine Learning

Sec. 18.1-18.2









Thu Feb 28

Partial Exam 2

Covers lectures 7-11









13

Tue Mar 4

Nearest Neighbors

Sec. 20.4





14

Thu Mar 6

Decision Trees

Sec. 18.3





15

Tue Mar 11

Neural Networks

Sec. 20.5

16

Thu Mar 13









Thu Mar 13

Project Progress Report 1 Due





Tue Mar 18

No Class: Spring Break

Thu Mar 20









17

Tue Mar 25

Support Vector Machines

Sec. 20.6









Thu Mar 27

Partial Exam 3

Covers lectures 12-16









18

Tue Apr 1

Support Vector Machines (cont.)





19

Thu Apr 3

Boosting

Sec. 18.4

20

Tue Apr 8









Thu Apr 8

Project Progress Report 2 Due









21

Thu Apr 10

Predicate Logic

Sec. 7.1-7.6









Tue Apr 15

Partial Exam 4

Covers lectures 17-20









22

Thu Apr 17

First-order Logic

Ch. 8





23

Tue Apr 22

Inference

Ch. 9









Thu Apr 24

No Class: Monday Classes Meet

Project Progress Report 3 Due





Tue Apr 29

Project Oral Presentations

Thu May 1









24

Tue May 6

Natural Language Processing

Sec. 22.1-22.3









Tue May 9

Project Final Report Due





TBD

Final Exam

Comprehensive